What is Mirror Sync?

Mirror sync is a feature that the newly added and modified files in the source directory will be synchronized to the target directory, and the files in the target directory will always be exactly the same as the files in the source directory. Files in the target directory that are inconsistent with those in the source directory will be deleted or overwritten.

How to run Mirror Sync in AOMEI Backupper?

Here are the detailed steps about how to set mirror sync:

1. Click the "Sync" tab on the left sides and then select "Mirror Sync".

Select Mirror Sync

2. You can click the edit icon to modify the name of this Mirror Sync task to help you distinguish it from other sync tasks. Click "Add Folder" to select the folder which you want to synchronize.

Add Souce Folder

You can add multiple folders one by one and you can also click the "TrashCan" icon to delete the wrong selected folder.

Click Trashcan

3. Select a destination location to store the folder.

Select Destination

Tips: While sync is running, you can click an icon in the lower-left corner to set to Shut down/Restart/Hibernate/Sleep PC after sync completion.

Manually Sync Setting

When the sync is running, you can also click the underlined sentence to check the sync process in detail.

View Sync Details

And, please kindly wait for the sync process to complete and then click the "Finish" button.

Click Finish Button

Here are different results refers to different operations:

  • After creating a mirror synchronization task and running it once, the files in the source directory and the target directory will become exactly the same.

  • If you edit the files in the source directory and then run the mirror synchronization, the files with the same name in the target directory will be overwritten/replaced by the edited files in the source directory.

  • If you edit a file in the target directory and run mirror synchronization, the file will also be overwritten/replaced by the file with the same name in the source directory.

  • If you run mirror synchronization after adding a file in the source directory, the file will be copied to the target directory to keep it exactly the same as the file in the source directory.

  • If you add a new file to the target directory and run mirror synchronization, the file will be deleted to keep it exactly the same as the file in the source directory.

  • If you delete a file from the source directory and then run synchronization again, the file with the same name in the target directory will be deleted.

  • If you delete a file from the target directory and then run synchronization again, the file with the same name in the source directory will not be deleted. On the contrary, AOMEI Backupper will copy the file with the same name from the source directory to the target directory to keep the files in the source directory and the target directory exactly the same. Mirror synchronization is always based on the source directory.

Sync Settings

When creating a new Mirror Sync task, you will find a "Options" button in the lower-left corner of the interface.

Mirror Sync Options

Click the button and you will show "General", "Command" and "Advanced" options.

Mirror Sync Sync Settings

  • Comments: Write a note for your task to help you distinguish it from other backup tasks.

  • Email notification: In unattended operations, a notification can be emailed containing the result of each backup.

  • Command: In this option, you can set the pre-command and post-command.

Advanced: If you need the same name as the Basic Task folder in the destination, you need to tick the box "Automatically create a folder with the same as the task in the target location" before you create the basic sync task. (This option is unticked by default.)

Schedule Sync

Select the “Schedule” option upon which a dialog box will appear. Schedule the required sync task to sync files Daily, Weekly, Monthly, etc. Also, Event triggers and USB Plug in can be used as a sync method. Please click here to know more details.

Notes:

  • Mirror Sync only supports one-way sync. That’s to say, it only can sync from source to target.

  • File Sync supports VSS (Volume Shadow Copy Service), therefore, it can normally synchronize files that are being used or occupied by other programs. but, you need to make sure that the "Volume Shadow Copy" service in your computer is enabled status. However, if some files are in use by other programs exclusively, they are not synchronized.

  • If there are some special system files or folders with special security attributes in source folders, they are not synchronized, and the program will prompt to skip them.

  • After synchronizing file, any changes on target files and folder such as delete, add or rename one of them, will cause that target files or folder are inconsistent with the source ones. This situation will not benefit for file management.

  • If the target path was located in FAT/FAT32 partition, files larger than 4GB will not be synced to the target path. Because a single file larger than 4GB cannot be stored on FAT/FAT32 partition.