What is Basic Sync?

Basic Sync is a feature which allows you to synchronize folders to other locations, such as an external hard drive, NAS, removable USB flash drive, etc. For Basic Sync, it is like Window's "copy" feature and it would not create image file after sync process is done so you can view your contents at any time.

How to run Basic Sync in AOMEI Backupper?

Here are the detailed steps about how to set Basic Sync:

1. Click the “Sync” tab on the left sides and then select “Basic Sync”.

Basic Sync

2. You can name this backup using the Basic Sync Task filed to help you distinguish it from other sync tasks. Click "Add Folder" to select the folder which you want to synchronize. You can click the “plus” icon to add more folders to sync.

Add Folders

* When needing to filter files after you add the folders, you can click the "funnel" icon to open the "Filter Settings".

Filter

The feature "Filter Settings" can be set after you add source folders. (Only available for paid versions)

1) The File Inclusion Mask can specify the files that you need to sync. Wildcards are supported and separate multiple masks with semi-colon(*.doc;*.xls;*.ppt ).

With this mask, you can configure including sync according to file extensions, such as .doc, .xls, .ppt and so on. So, only files with the same extensions will be synced to the target path.

For example, you would like to only sync .doc files in the selected source folders. You can just configure "*.doc" in the mask. (If you would like to include more extensions, please separate the formats with semi-colons).

2) The File Exclusion Mask specifies the files that you need to exclude. Wildcards are supported and separate multiple masks with semi-colon(*.temp;*.tmp;*.bak;*~*).

With this mask, you can configure to exclude according to file extensions, such as .temp, .tmp, .bak and so on. As a result, all files with the same extensions will not be synced to the destination location.

For example, you would like to only exclude .temp files in the selected source folders. You can just configure "*.temp" in the mask. (If you would like to include more extensions, please separate the formats with semi-colons).

3) The Folder Exclusion Mask specifies the folders that you need to exclude. Wildcards are supported and separate multiple masks with a semi-colon(*temp;temp*).

With this mask, you can configure to exclude folders with the same name. Therefore, all folders with the same name will not be synced to the destination location.

For example, you would like to only exclude folder "A" in the selected source folders. You can just configure "*A" in the mask. (If you would like to include more folder names, please separate the names with semi-colons).

You can also tick the bottom three boxes as you need. After the "Filter settings" option is set, please click "OK".

File Sync Filter Settings

3. Select a destination location to store the folder, then click "Start Sync" to perform the operation.

Add Destination

While sync is running, you can click an icon in the lower-left corner to set to Shut down/Restart/Hibernate/Sleep PC after sync completion.

Shut Down PC

When the sync is running, you can also click the underlined sentence to check the sync process in detail.

Running Sync Tick

And, please kindly wait for the sync process to complete and then click the "Finish" button.

Finish Sync

4. As a result, you can view the data straightly on the destination location.

View Destination

When you run the Basic Sync task again, the added and changed data from the source directory will sync to the destination. If you need the files to be deleted from the destination location when they are deleted from the source folder, please tick "Sync the deletions in the source directory to destination" option under Options->General.

Sync Settings

When creating a new Basic Sync task, you will find a "Options" button in the lower-left corner of the interface.

Basic Sync Options

Click the button and you will show "General", "Command" and "Advanced" options.

Basic Sync Sync Settings

  • Comments: Write a note for your task to help you distinguish it from other backup tasks.

  • Email notification: In unattended operations, a notification can be emailed containing the result of each backup.

  • Command: In this option, you can set the pre-command and post-command.

  • Sync the deletions in the source directory to the destination: When files are deleted from the source directory, the same files in the destination directory will also be deleted.

  • Verify the integrity of files in the destination directory during synchronization: If a file in the source directory does not exist in the destination directory, the missing files will be synced to the destination directory to ensure the integrity of files. (e.g. files in destination directory are deleted manually.) Tick this option will also increase the sync time.

Advanced: If you need the same name as the Basic Task folder in the destination, you need to tick the box "Automatically create a folder with the same as the task in the target location" before you create the basic sync task. (This option is unticked by default.)

Schedule Sync

Select the “Schedule” option upon which a dialog box will appear. Schedule the required sync task to sync files Daily, Weekly, Monthly, etc. Also, Event triggers and USB Plug in can be used as a sync method. Please click here to know more details.

Notes:

  • The Basic Sync feature will copy the whole source folders by default (including subfolders and files) to the destination directory unless you configure to include or exclude some files and folders in the "Filter Settings".

  • Please don't modify the folder name of the source folder(s) once basic sync has been set up, otherwise, the sync process can not function properly.

  • For a new basic sync process, if the source file name is the same as one of the destinations which have been synced before, the destination copy will be overwritten. There is no way to keep a different version of a file using the same names.

  • The maximum file path of basic sync is restricted by the maximum path length allowed by the Windows API to 256 characters. So, please check the names of folders you are going to synchronize and shorten them when it's necessary. AOMEI Backupper can't synchronize folders that have special characters in their names.

  • When performing the Basic Sync operation, AOMEI Backupper can only sync the contents of folders that have not been renamed or moved. If you wish to change the name or location of the source folders(s) then you must modify the sync task to reflect this.

  • The Basic Sync is a one-way sync. After modifying the source files, it will be synced to the target directory. But if you delete some source files, they will not be synced to the target directory. And if you delete a file in the target directory, it will not be deleted in the source directory, too.

  • If you synchronize the C drive to another disk, it is impossible to boot from the disk you sync to because Aomei Backupper only copies all data under C: drive to another disk and it does not copy the special boot configuration of your system.

  • Basic Sync supports VSS(Volume Shadow Copy Service). This allows files to synchronize that are being used by other programs. However, you need to make sure that the "Volume Shadow Copy" service on your computer is enabled. If some files are in use by other programs exclusively, they are not synchronized.

  • If there are some special system files or folders with special security attributes in the source folders, they won't be synchronized and the program will prompt you to skip them.

  • The main function of Basic Sync is to help you to synchronize working files and user data files, however, if there are some special system files or files with special security attributes in the source folders (e.g. C:\boot\bcd, C:\Windows\CSC), they are not synchronized.

  • If the target path is located on a FAT/FAT 32 partition, any files larger than 4 GB won't be synced to the target path because a single file larger than 4 GB cannot be stored on FAT/FAT 32 partitions.

  • After synchronizing folders, any changes made directly by the user to the files or folders stored under the destination location will cause inconsistencies between source and destination data.