If I erase my old iPhone will it affect my new one?
I want to reset my old iPhone and give it to my friend. It wants me to log in with the Apple ID before it will allow me to erase everything. I’m using the same Apple ID on my new iPhone. I'm a little concerned about whether it will affect my new iPhone.
- Question from Apple Community
If I reset my old iPhone will it affect my photo library?
Does “Erase All Content and Settings” delete the photos on my new phone if they are in the same photo library?
- Question from Quora
If I Erase My Old iPhone Will It Affect My New One?
The brand new iPhone 12 caught you, so you bought it to replace the old one. After transferring data from old iPhone to new iPhone, it’s time to wipe the old iPhone. No matter you want to give it to family or sell it, the first step is to erase all your data.
Why wipe iPhone clean? Partly because it will keep your personal information from falling into wrong hands and partly because it is convenient for others to use. However, when you tap “Erase All Content and Settings”, a message pops up and wants you to enter the Apple ID and passcode. If you are using the same Apple ID on the new iPhone, you might have a worry like this: if I erase all content and settings on my old iPhone will it erase on my new iPhone?
Don’t worry, resetting old iPhone will not affect the new one. It will only erase content on old iPhone where the operation is done. The data that have been transferred to the new iPhone or the files that have been saved to iCloud will not be affected in any way.
How to Clear Old iPhone Completely
From the above, you know that reset old iPhone will not affect the new one. So just feel free to erase your iPhone to make sure your data is protected.
►Attention: Please make sure you have made a full backup for your old iPhone in case you might need some of the data one day.
1. Reset Old iPhone via Settings App
The traditional way to erase an iPhone is to go to the Settings to make it. It will restore your iPhone to factory state.
1. Go to Settings app > Tap General > Tap Reset (Transfer or Reset iPhone in iOS 15 and later) > Tap Erase All Content and Settings.
2. If asked, enter your passcode or Apple ID passcode. (It will need the Apple ID and passcode to turn off "Find My iPhone" or "Activate Lock".)
3. Depending on your device, it may take a few minutes to complete the process.
2. Completely Wipe Old iPhone to Prevent Recovery
For anyone who wants to wipe iPhone before selling it, it’s recommended to erase iPhone with a professional tool such as FoneTool. It can deeply erase all personal data and even the deleted files.
The more erasing operations are performed, the more difficult it is to recover the data. FoneTool will erase the data multiple times, which makes data recovery impossible. Learn how to completely clear old iPhone from below.
- ★Here are some points you need to pay attention to:
- Make sure the lighting cable is firmly connected so that it will not be disconnected before the process is done.
- Do not use your iPhone until the process is complete. Any operation on iPhone will affect the erase process.
- Back up your iPhone in case you need some data one day. You can backup iPhone with iCloud/iTunes/FoneTool.
1. Free download and install FoneTool on your computer > Launch the tool > Connect your iPhone to computer via USB cable.
2. Click Toolbox > Choose iPhone Eraser.
3. Ajust the settings according to your situation.
4. Click Erase Data > A warning message will appear and click Yes to confirm.
FAQs about resetting iPhone
Does erasing iPhone delete iCloud Photos?
Reset will not delete photos that have been uploaded to iCloud. You can still sign in to iCloud and view photos on any device.
Does erasing all content and settings remove Apple ID?
It will remove everything including Apple ID from the device. But it will not delete the account and you can sign in to your account during the setup process or use the Apple ID on any other device.
If I erase my old iPhone will it affect my new one? Well, the answer is No. Please free feel to reset your iPhone. If you want to wipe iPhone deeply and make data recovery impossible, let FoneTool help you.
FoneTool Runs Perfectly on
- iOS 16/15/14/13/12/11 and former
- iPadOS 16/15/14/13/12/11 and former
- iPhone 14/14 Pro (Max), 13/13 mini/Pro (Max), iPhone 12/12 mini/Pro (Max), iPhone 11/11 Pro (Max)
- iPhone X/XR/XS/XS Max, iPhone 8/8 Plus, iPhone 7/7 Plus, iPhone 6/6s/6s Plus
- iPhone SE (1st, 2nd, 3rd generations)
- iPod touch 1/2/3/4/5/6/7
- All models of iPad Air, iPad mini, iPad Pro and iPad