What Happens When Reset End-to-end Encrypted Data on iPhone [Answered]
This post mainly introduces what kind of data you’ll lose when you choose to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iPhone. Meanwhile, you’re advised to fully backup your iPhone from time to time in case you suffer data loss accidentally.
Reset end-to-end encrypted data notification keeps popping up?
My mother lost her iPhone so I bought her a new one. When setting it up, it had a pop-up notification asking me to approve the new iPhone on the old iPhone. But it is not possible as the old one has been lost by her. So the only choice left for me is to reset end-to-end encrypted data. What does this mean? Will it remove all my data on my iCloud Backup?”
What kind of data you’ll lose when you choose to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iPhone?
End-to-end Encrypted Data is another security feature developed by Apple, which gives the maximum level of protection to keep any form of data safe. With the use of a key, data will be safeguarded before being delivered to another user in encrypted form. It also necessitates two-factor authentication on a different trusted device. End-to-end Encrypted data is accessible across all types of devices owned by the same company, such as iPhone, iPad, and Mac.
When you are asked to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iPhone, fortunately, it won’t erase all data on your old iPhone. All your photos, music, and other personal stuff stay for your access. According to Apple, the data that is reset is as follows.
- Apple Card transactions
- Health data
- Home data
- Maps Favorites, Collections, and search history
- Messages in iCloud
- Payment information
- QuickType Keyboard learned vocabulary
- Safari History, Tab Groups, and iCloud Tabs
- Screen Time
- Siri information
- Wi-Fi passwords
- W1 and H1 Bluetooth keys
Note: For Messages in iCloud, your backup includes a copy of the key safeguarding your messages if you have iCloud Backup enabled. If you lose access to your Keychain or trusted devices, you’ll be able to restore your messages.
How to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iPhone
after learning what kind of data you may lose after resetting end-to-end encrypted data, let’s start to reset the data. For a great number of users, they can just click Reset Encrypted Data when they can’t approve their new iPhone during setup. For other users, if you have the need to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iPhone for any other reasons, for example, you’ve forgotten the password for your encrypted backup of iPhone, you can follow the steps below.
Step 1. You need to go to Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > Reset.
Step 2. Choose Reset All Settings. Then enter your iPhone password to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iPhone. This will take a few minutes. Wait patiently.
Fully backup iPhone data before resetting end-to-end encrypted data
If you’re afraid of losing data when resetting end-to-end encrypted data, you are suggested to fully backup your iPhone from time to time to protect your end-to-end encrypted data from loss. Here we recommend the free iOS backup tool FoneTool to you.
- Diverse backup methods. It enables you to fully backup all your iPhone data or selectively backup iPhone photos, videos, songs, contacts, and messages.
- Multiple functions. It supports iOS data backup, data transfer, data restore, data erasion, photo deduplication, etc.
- Fast speed. Its backup speed is faster than many other mobile phone backup software on the market.
- Wide compatibility. It works with almost any iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch, as well as Windows 11/10/8.1/8/7.
Step 1. Download and install MBackupper on your Windows PC. Connect your iPhone to the computer via a USB cable and then launch MBackupper.
Step 2. Click Phone Backup > Locate Full Backup and click Get Started. (You can also click Selective Backup on the home page to backup selective data.)
Step 3. Enable Backup encryption as you like. If it is enabled, your data such as Fitness records, Health, and Keychain can be private.
Step 5. Select a storage path to save the backup. Click Start Backup and wait until it finishes.
You may restore the backup to an iPhone after backing it up. To restore a backup, go to Backup History, locate your backup files, and select Restore.
Note: Please keep in mind that restoring full backup files will wipe out all of the data on your target iPhone, however restoring custom backup files would not.
This post mainly gives you the answer to the question of what kind of data you’ll lose when you choose to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iPhone. If you don’t want to lose your end-to-end encrypted data, for example, your payment information, you’d better fully backup your iPhone data to a computer using FoneTool in case you’ll need to restore it in the future.
1. Why does my iPhone say reset end-to-end encrypted data?
This normally happens when you failed to approve your iPhone on one of the other devices signed in to the same iCloud account. It was designed by Apple to protect your data with the highest level of security, especially for data like payment passwords.
2. Will I lose messages if I reset end-to-end encrypted data?
Technically, it will erase your messages. But if you have iCloud Backup enabled, your backup includes a copy of the key safeguarding your messages. Therefore, you’ll be able to restore your messages.
3. How long does it take to reset end-to-end encrypted data?
Actually, there's no absolute answer to this question. The time cost to reset end-to-end encrypted data depends on the size of this part of data on your iPhone.