By Dylan / Last update December 8, 2020

iPhone erase all content and settings not working

I have got my new iPhone 11 so I decide to factory reset my old iPhone 7. I have made a backup but there is a problem deleting iPhone content. After I tap Erase Content, nothing happens even after several minutes. What should I do?

- Question from an iPhone user

iPhone could store all your important data. If you don’t use your iPhone or are going to sell the device to a stranger, you need to remove the data in case of data leak. Usually, everything could be just done by one step on iPhone.

Go to iPhone Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. Enter your passcode, confirm you would like to erase the device, and then your device would become empty. Don’t forget to backup iPhone to computer before you erase iPhone.

Erase All Content and Settings

Although most of the time iPhone’s reaction is satisfying, an error might occur when you delete the data. If you tap it but get no response or are told that verification failed, you could find a way to fix the issue erase all content and settings not working.

Section 1. How to fix erase iPhone content and settings failed?

If you cannot erase iPhone with the right Apple ID and password, it is mostly caused by bad Internet so that in this section, suggestions are mainly about fixing network issues.

Solution 1. Check Internet Speed: Although you are erasing your data on your own device, the Internet is a must in this process. Without the Internet, you cannot start the process. Even if you use Find My to remotely erase iPhone, the content on iPhone would not be deleted before it is connected to the Internet, so you need to open Safari or other apps to test whether the Internet condition is good or you need to connect a better Wi-Fi.

Solution 2. Reset Network Settings: The direct way to solve network issues is reset the related settings but you need to save the passwords of Wi-Fi so you could connect them later.

Go to iPhone Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings.

Solution 3. Disable Find My: Find My is used to locate and retrieve iPhone. If it is enabled on iPhone when you are erasing iPhone data, you would be required to enter your Apple ID and password. That means there is a redundant process. It increases the likelihood of failing to erase iPhone so you need to disable it in advance.

Go to iPhone Settings > tap your profile > select Find My > tap Find My iPhone and then switch it off.

Find My

Solution 4. Sign out of iCloud: Like turning off Find My, it is the operation to erase part of data by yourself.

Go to iPhone Settings > tap your profile > select Sign Out at the bottom.

Sign out of iCloud

Solution 5. Insert your SIM card: After you got your new iPhone, you might eject the SIM card from your old iPhone and insert the SIM card into your new iPhone to activate it first. After that, you decide to erase your old iPhone while you would get the error message that Verification Failed-There was a problem connecting to the server.

Eject Sim Tray

If you see this, you need to erase your iPhone using cellular data. Reinsert the SIM card and then you could erase iPhone this time.

Section 2. How to Erase iPhone content with iTunes on computer?

Your iTunes could not only be used to manage your media files but also manage your iPhone data. It could backup, restore, update, and of course, erase iPhone. If iPhone won't erase all content and settings, iTunes would help you factory reset iPhone even when you forget your iPhone password (you need to put iPhone into recovery mode if so).

Steps to erase iPhone with iTunes:

1. Download and install the latest iTunes. Connect iPhone to computer with USB cable.

2. Click the device icon below the option Account after it appears.

Device Icon iTunes

3. If you don’t have an iPhone backup, click Back Up Now to save your iPhone data. You can read this guide What Does iTunes Backup Include to save your wanted data. After that, click Restore iPhone above to erase iPhone content.

iTunes

Section 3. How to easily erase iPhone with AOMEI MBackupper?

The simplest way to erase your iPhone is using the professional software AOMEI MBackupper. 100% wipe your iPhone clean and you just need one click and the rest work would be left to the software.

AOMEI MBackupper would also provide an excellent solution to let you backup iPhone to computer useful data before you erase iPhone. Compared to iTunes, AOMEI MBackupper would let you preview and select iPhone data so that you could save only the needed information.

Steps to erase your iPhone with AOMEI MBackupper:

Step 1. Download AOMEI MBackupper to computer and connect iPhone with USB cable.

Step 2. Select Erase iPhone on the home screen.

Erase iPhone

Step 3. Check “I have understood the consequences of erasing data and I am sure to erase data.” and “Deeply erase data to prevent recovery.

Erase Options

Step 4. Click Erase iPhone to quickly empty your iPhone.

Begin Erase

Conclusion

Erasing iPhone could prevent data leakage. If you have a problem erase all content and settings not working, you could use the 5 solutions in this guide to fix the issue or try erasing iPhone on computer.

AOMEI MBackupper gives you the best solution. It is perfect for backing up and erase data. It is definitely worth trying.

Share this guide and it would help more people.